Frequently asked questions

            How fast can the liteECO® actuators proceed?

             
             
            The liteECO drive series delivers a max. speed of 1040 mm/s. With a max. acceleration of 60 m/s² a positioning time of up to 65 ms on 50 mm stroke is possible.











            Maximum force

            What force can a liteECO® actuator apply statically and dynamically?

             
             
            Depending on the actuator configuration, forces of up to 600 N 
            can be applied statically (60 kg vertical load). The nominal force for dynamic processes is 33 % (poor thermal connection) to 50 % (good thermal connection) of the maximum force. For dynamic loads, the maximum load capacity must not be exceeded. Contact us to calculate your individual motion profiles.






            Recommended motion controller

            With which motion controller can the liteECO® actuators be operated?

            The liteECO® actuators are tested with motion controller from the following manufacturers:

            Contact us for questions about control via different bus systems. We will be happy to assist you in selecting the appropriate control system and check compatibility with your system components.

            Maximum stroke
            What is the maximum stroke of a liteECO® actuator?

            The currently offered series models provide a traversable stroke of up to 56 mm (without integrated anti-rotation protection of the plunger). The overall length of the actuator in this configuration is 84 mm. The liteECO® saves up to 80 % installation space compared to comparable electrical solutions and uses 2/3 of its installation length for the stroke.
            Scaling to a longer stroke is possible on request. Contact us!

            What are the benefits of switching to an all-electric infrastructure?

            The use of electromechanical actuators instead of pneumatic systems leads to a significantly simplification of the system infrastructure and an associated faster commissioning. The reduced component use leads to a more advantageous ecological footprint of the systems.

            Whereas the SMELA liteECO® actuators only require a motion controller, a pneumatic cylinder requires a complete compressed air infrastructure consisting of a compressor, pressure vessels, leaky hoses, valves, valve actuators as well as a power supply.

            The maintenance effort of these compressed air systems, with continuous lubrication and cleaning as well as filter changes and leakage repairs, represents a non-negligible personnel expense with additional material costs.


            Mechanical compatibility
            How is the mechanical connection of the liteECO® actuators designed?

            The LE48 size has an external flange dimension (A) of 48 x 48 mm with a mounting hole spacing of 38 x 38 mm. This corresponds to a comparable pneumatic cylinder with a piston diameter of 40 mm. Since the liteECO® series does not exceed the installation length with the same stroke of the pneumatic cylinders, the actuators can be used without further adaptation effort. Provided that the force and dynamics are in accordance with the requirements.

            Feel free to contact us!


            Can the movement processes be parameterized?

             
             
            Depending on the motion controller used, various scripts for standalone/island operation of the controllers can be stored in addition to the integrated position control with mostly subordinate speed and current control loop.

            This means that, in addition to setpoint specification via a bus system (e.g. CAN, EtherCAT, Profinet or Profibus), digital or analog inputs can also be easily evaluated and used in programmed state machines.

            This can be useful and helpful for small systems/automats without higher-level control or for quick commissioning by mechanics without programming knowledge.

            The adjacent video shows a simple switch function for picking and logistics systems. The desired positions can easily be programmed by hand, without PC or bus connection. The control in the machine can be done via digital inputs (pushbuttons), binary signals or bus systems.
            Lifetime
            How high is the life expectancy of the liteECO® actuators?

             
             
            The utilized mechanics are made of high-performance plastics or ball screws, depending on configuration. The former are cheaper to manufacture and more susceptible to wear, although dynamic load tests have proven cycle numbers similar to pneumatic cylinders (> 10 million). A resulting wear can be compensated and announced electronically by the control system (predictive maintenance). SMELA offers a refurbishment of the actuators to easily and cost-effectively replace the mechanics and help to achieve multiple life cycles. Thereby our sustainable design not only conserves valuable resources, it also reduces industrial scrap.

            Contact us for more info, the individual life cycle determination or the handling of a refurbishment: service@smela.com

            Areas of application

            Where are liteECO® actuators used?

            The liteECO® linear actuators are ideal for applications that require short linear movements: e.g. in production lines, machine tools or packaging systems. For simple and complex movements: for fixing, adjusting, locking or traversing any motion profiles.

            Do you have any questions?

            It would be a pleasure for our experts to answer your questions.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

            Wie schnell können die liteECO® Aktuatoren verfahren?

             
             
            Die liteECO Antriebsserie liefert eine max. Geschwindigkeit von 1040 mm/s. Mit einer max. Beschleunigung von 60 m/s² ist eine Positionierdauer von bis zu 65 ms auf 50 mm Hub möglich.












            Maximale Kraft

            Welche Kraft kann ein liteECO® Aktuator statisch und dynamisch aufbringen?

             
             
            Es können je nach Aktuator-Konfiguration Kräfte von bis zu 800 N 
            statisch aufgebracht werden (80 kg vertikale Last). Die Nennkraft für dynamische Vorgänge liegt bei 33 % (schlechte thermische Anbindung) bis 50 % (gute thermische Anbindung) der Maximalkraft. Bei dynamischen Belastungen darf die Maximalbelastbarkeit nicht überschritten werden. Nehmen Sie Kontakt zu uns auf, um Ihre individuellen Bewegungsprofile zu berechnen.






            Hardware zur Ansteuerung / Motion Controller

            Mit welchen Steuerungen / Motion Controllern können die liteECO® Aktuatoren betrieben werden?

            Die liteECO® Aktuatoren sind mit Steuerungen der folgenden Hersteller erprobt:

            Kontaktieren Sie uns für Fragen zur Ansteuerung über verschiedene Bus-Systeme. Wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei der Auswahl der passenden Steuerung und prüfen die Kompatibilität zu Ihren Systemkomponenten.

            Maximaler Hub
            Wieviel beträgt der maximale Hub eines liteECO® Aktuators?

            Die aktuell angebotenen Serienmodelle liefern einen verfahrbaren Hub von bis zu 56 mm (ohne integrierter Verdrehsicherung des Stößels). Die Gesamtlänge des Aktuators liegt in dieser Konfiguration bei 84 mm. Damit spart der liteECO® bis zu 80 % Bauraum gegenüber vergleichbaren elektrischen Lösungen ein und nutzt 2/3 seiner Baulänge für den Hub aus.
            Eine Skalierung auf einen längeren Hub ist auf Anfrage möglich. Kontaktieren Sie uns!

            Welche Vorteile ergeben sich durch den Wechsel auf eine rein elektrische Infrastruktur?

            Die Verwendung elektromechanischer Aktuatoren anstelle pneumatischer Systeme führt zu einer gravierenden Vereinfachung der Systeminfrastruktur und einer damit einhergehenden schnelleren Inbetriebnahme. Der reduzierte Komponenteneinsatz führt zu einem deutlich  vorteilhafteren ökologischen Fußabdruck der Anlagen.

            Benötigen die SMELA liteECO® Aktuatoren lediglich einen Motion Controller, muss bei einem Pneumatikzylinder eine vollständige Druckluftinfrastruktur bestehend aus Kompressor, Druckbehältern, leckagebehafteten Schläuchen, Ventilen, Ventilansteuerungen sowie einer Spannungsversorgung bereitgestellt werden.

            Der Wartungsaufwand dieser Druckluftsysteme stellt mit kontinuierlicher Schmierung und Reinigung sowie den Filterwechseln und Leckagebehebungen einen nicht  zu vernachlässigenden Personalaufwand mit zusätzlichen Materialkosten dar. 


            Mechanische Kompatibilität
            Wie gestaltet sich die mechanische Anbindung der liteECO® Aktuatoren?

            Die Baugröße LE48 besitzt ein Flanschaußenmaß (A) von 48 x 48 mm mit einem Befestigungs-Lochabstand von 38 x 38 mm. Dies entspricht einem vergleichbaren Pneumatikzylinder mit Kolbendurchmesser 40 mm nach ISO 15552. Da die liteECO® Serie die Einbaulänge bei gleichem Hub der Pneumatikzylinder nicht überschreitet, lassen sich die Aktuatoren ohne weiteren Adaptionsaufwand einsetzen. Vorausgesetzt, die Kraft und Dynamik entsprechen den Anforderungen.

            Sprechen Sie uns gerne an!


            Können die Bewegungsvorgänge parametriert werden?

             
             
            Abhängig von dem verwendeten Motion Controller lassen sich neben der integrierten Positionsregelung mit meist untergeordnetem Drehzahl- und Stromregelkreis auch verschiedene Skripte zum Standalone/Insel-Betrieb der Controller hinterlegen.

            Damit lassen sich neben der Sollwertvorgabe über ein Bus-System (z.B. CAN, EtherCAT, Profinet oder Profibus) auch digitale oder analoge Inputs einfach auswerten und in programmierten Zustandsautomaten verwenden.

            Dies kann bei Kleinstanlagen/Automaten ohne übergeordnete Steuerung oder für schnelle Inbetriebnahmen duch Mechaniker ohne Programmierkenntnisse sinnvoll und hilfreich sein.

            Das nebenstehende Video zeigt eine einfache Weichenfunktion für Kommissionier- und Logistiksysteme. Die gewünschten Positionen lassen sich einfach händisch, ohne PC- oder Bus-Anbindung einprogrammieren. Die Ansteuerung im Automaten kann im Anschluss über digitale Inputs (Taster) binäre Signale oder auch Bus-Systeme erfolgen.
            Lebensdauer
            Wie hoch ist die Lebensdauer der liteECO ®  Aktuatoren?

             
             
            Die verwendeten Mechaniken sind je nach Konfiguration aus Hochleistungskunststoffen oder Kugelgewindetrieben. Erstere sind günstiger in der Herstellung, und eher verschleißanfällig, wobei dynamische Belastungstests Zykluszahlen ähnlich der Pneumatikzylinder (> 10 Mio.) bewiesen haben. Ein entstehender Verschleiß kann über die Regelung kompensiert und elektronisch angekündigt werden (Predictive Maintenance). Infolge bietet SMELA ein Refurbishment der Aktuatoren, um einfach und kostengünstig die Mechaniken zu ersetzen und dem Produkt zu mehreren Lebenszyklen zu verhelfen. Damit schont unser nachhaltiges Design nicht nur wertvolle Ressourcen, sondern reduziert auch Industrieschrott.

            Kontaktieren Sie uns für weitere Infos, der individuellen Lebensdauerermittlung oder der Abwicklung eines Refurbishments: service@smela.com

            Einsatzgebiete

            Wo werden liteECO® Aktuatoren eingesetzt?

            Die liteECO® Linearaktuatoren sind ideal einsetzbar für Anwendungen, die kurze lineare Bewegungen erfordern: z.B. in Fertigungsstraßen, Werkzeugmaschinen oder Verpackungsanlagen. Für einfache und komplexe Bewegungen: zum Fixieren, Verstellen, Arretieren oder zum Abfahren beliebiger Bewegungsprofile.

            Haben Sie noch weitere Fragen?

            Dann geben Ihnen unsere Experten gerne die passenden Antworten.